Vermont Motorsports Magazine

RPM Racing Engines

Helliwell Uses Delay to Advantage, Scores Sanair 100 Win

Posted By Tj Ingerson On August 12, 2012

Categories: American-Canadian Tour

Wayne Helliwell, Jr., used the rain delay to his advantage to claim his third American-Canadian Tour win of the season at Sanair. (T.J. Ingerson/VMM photo)PHOTO: Wayne Helliwell, Jr., used the rain delay to his advantage to claim his third American-Canadian Tour win of the season at Sanair. (T.J. Ingerson/VMM photo)

ST-PIE, Quebec --
Wayne Helliwell, Jr., took advantage of a front row starting position, and a delay by rain, to his advantage to claim his third American-Canadian Tour win of the season in the Sanair 100.

The American-Canadian Tour point leader started on the pole after the series drivers voted to forgo traditional qualifying in an attempt to complete the Sanair 100 Saturday night, but a rain shower moved into the area shortly after the green flag. The race was postponed until Sunday afternoon after seven laps.

Helliwell restarted third when the green flag flew, and rode there until a lap 35 caution flag. On the restart, the Dover, N.H., driver moved into the second position, and rode behind leader Patrick Laperle. Helliwell moved into the lead on lap 55, and never looked back in the 100-lap event.

Helliwell had handling issues when the green flag came out on Saturday night, and felt that they wouldn’t have been a contender without the delay.

“What a difference a day makes,” Helliwell exclaimed in victory lane. “We wouldn’t be here if this was last night.

“This is my first time at Sanair, and my first time winning a Canadian race, so that makes it special,” Helliwell said. “We really had no expectations coming, just wanted to stay competitive. It was a huge points day for us, and that’s what we are really pumped about.”

Defending American-Canadian Tour champion Brian Hoar restarted Sunday in the tenth position, and worked his way into the runner up position by the checkered flag. Hoar, of Williston, Vt., moved into the second position with less than 30 laps to go, and chipped away at Helliwell’s lead.

Austin Theriault, of Fort Kent, Maine, was slated to restart in the seventh position, but was penalized to the rear of the field for having a wrong tire on the car. Theriault would restart at the tail of the field, but worked his way into the third position over the final 93 laps.

Eddie MacDonald, of Rowley, Mass., was fourth and Canadian Karl Allard, of St-Felicien, Que., finished fifth. Jean-Francois Dery, rookie Ben Lynch, Laperle, Jean Paul Cyr, and Rowland Robinson, Jr., completed the unofficial top ten.

Helliwell is credited with leading the initial lap of the race, before Laperle took over on lap two. Laperle led until lap 17, when Allard led lap 18. Laperle took back over on lap 19 and led until lap 54, when Helliwell took command of the point for the final time.

Helliwell beat Hoar by 0.454 seconds, and the race took 56 minutes and 27 seconds.

Unofficially, Helliwell extended his point lead over Theriault by 7 points and now stands at 23 points with three races remaining.

American-Canadian Tour -- Sanair Super Speedway, St-Pie, Que.
Saturday, August 11, 2012

(# - denotes rookie)

1. (1) Wayne Helliwell, Jr., Dover, N.H.
2. (12) Brian Hoar, Williston, Vt.
3. (8) Austin Theriault, Fort Kent, Maine
4. (9) Eddie MacDonald, Rowley, Mass.
5. (3) Karl Allard, St-Felicien, Que.
6. (7) Jean-Francois Dery, Quebec, Que.
7. (18) # Ben Lynch, Derry, N.H.
8. (2) Patrick Laperle, St-Denis, Que.
9. (16) Jean Paul Cyr, Milton, Vt.
10. (15) Rowland Robinson, Jr., Birch Harbor, Maine
11. (11) David Michaud, St-Annes-des-Plains, Que.
12. (4) Brent Dragon, Milton, Vt.
13. (25) # Jimmy Hebert, Williamstown, Vt.
14. (32) Andre Beaudoin, St. Augustin, Que.
15. (23) Ricky Rolfe, Albany Township, Maine
16. (22) Derek Lynch, Warkworth, Ont.
17. (38) Stephane Descoste, Oka, Que.
18. (26) Ray Parent, Tiverton, R.I.
19. (19) Randy Potter, Groveton, N.H.
20. (24) Patrick Cliché, St-Jean-Chrysostome, Que.
21. (10) Donald Theetge, Boischatel, Que.
22. (14) Dany Trepanier, St-Edouard, Que.
23. (21) Mark Lamberton, Mooers Forks, N.Y.
24. (5) Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Hudson, N.H.
25. (37) Jonathan Bouvrette, Blainville, Que.
26. (36) Yannick Tremblay, Chicoutimi, Que.
27. (29) Spencer MacPherson, Carleton Place, Ont.
28. (35) Patrick Hamel, Ste-Croix, Que.
29. (33) Glen Luce, Turner, Maine
30. (28) Jimmy Linardy, Somerville, Mass.
31. (34) Gaetan Lauzier, St-Pacome, Que.
32. (30) Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, Vt.
33. (27) Claude Leclerc, Lanoraie, Que.
34. (20) Luke Hinkley, Claremont, N.H.
35. (17) Steven Boissonneault, Lyster, Que.
36. (6) Ryan Nolin, Georgia, Vt.
37. (13) # Etienne Cliché, Vallee-Jonction, Que.
38. (31) Jean-Pierre Ouimet, Terrebonne, Que.
39. (39) Daniel Descoste, St. Joseph, Que.