Vermont Motorsport Magazine Sponor

Devil's Bowl Speedway News

Mattison Notches First Asphalt Win At Devil's Bowl

- Justin St. Louis on 21 Jul 2010

Don Mattison earned his first Devil's Bowl Speedway win of the year on Sunday. (Justin St. Louis/VMM photo)Don Mattison earned his first Devil's Bowl Speedway win of the year on Sunday. (Justin St. Louis/VMM photo)

Devil's Bowl Speedway coverage presented by Bruno's Towing

(From track press release)

Don Mattison parlayed a front-row starting position and a night of mechanical problems by points leader Ken Tremont, Jr., into his first win of the season Sunday night in the Modified feature at Devil's Bowl Speedway.

Tremont spent more time under his car than in it Sunday night, and had to start scratch in the feature, but he only lasted 14 laps, ducking into the infield and calling it a night.

But that didn't mean the Devil's Bowl fans weren't highly entertained, as they saw some great racing, and a little too much contact.

While Mattison was setting the pace, running the high side, Tim LaDuc was trying to gather enough momentum on the low groove to make a run at the lead. But LaDuc also had to contend with Marc Johnson, who was hungry for his second win of the year.

With 10 laps to go, lapped traffic came into play, which allowed Vince Quenneville, Jr., and Leon Gonyo to move up and create a five-car battle. On lap 24, there was contact between Mattison and LaDuc in turn four, but somehow, the lead pack remained intact.

While LaDuc stayed right on Mattison's rear bumper, Johnson tried to make a move for second, and the banging between LaDuc and Johnson became more intense.

On the last lap, Quenneville tried to get inside LaDuc going down the backstretch, but Quenneville wound up going over the rumble strips and blowing a tire.

With the checkered flag flying, Mattison held off Johnson for the victory, his third career win at the Bowl, while Quenneville came across the finish line third in a shower of sparks. Gonyo hung on for fourth, while Don Scarborough finished fifth.

LaDuc dropped to seventh, and after a consultation in the pit tower for his action on the speedway, was disqualified for rough riding.

Don Miller came out of his 10th starting spot to record his third win of the season in the Sportsman feature. Miller took the lead away from Jack Swinton, who had another great run, finishing second for the second time this season, with three laps to go. John Reome, who recently returned to racing, crossed the finish line third, but came up light on the scales and was disqualified, giving the No. 3 spot to Hunter Bates.

Renegade points leader Jon Miller, who had a five-race wining streak, was a no-show Sunday because of a prior commitment, creating a wild race in that support class. Randy Alger looked like he was going to get the win, but with five to go, he got into a three-wide jingle with Frank Monroe and Bill Duprey, which brought out the yellow and put an unhappy Alger at the rear of the field.

Duprey survived two restarts on the final lap to get the win, his first of the season. David Emigh was second and Mike Ostrander went from fifth to third on the final lap to get on the podium.

Colin Clow drove to his first win of the year in the Bomber Warriors feature, and Garrett Given was the winner of the Duke stock feature.

Double points will be on the line in all divisions for the Mid-Season Championships on Sunday, July 25. Track management will also be staging a huge ice cream party, with ice cream priced at $1 for the first 25 gallons.

Devil's Bowl Speedway, West Haven, Vt.
Sunday, July 18, 2010


1. Don Mattison, Wells
2. Marc Johnson, Guilderland, N.Y.
3. Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon
4. Leon Gonyo, West Chazy, N.Y.
5. Don Scarborough, Brandon
6. Mike Bruno, Bomoseen
7. Jim Ryan, Whiting
8. Seth Roberts, West Sand Lake, N.Y.
9. Jason Bruno, Morrisonville, N.Y.
10. Ken Tremont, Jr., West Sand Lake, N.Y.

1. Don Miller, Wells
2. Jack Swinton, Hudson Falls, N.Y.
3. Hunter Bates, Middlebury
4. Jared McMahon, Hydeville
5. Alex Bell, Cambridge
6. Chris Johnson, Schenectady, N.Y.
7. Paul Dunham, Jr., Indian Lake, N.Y.
8. Fred Proctor, Clifton Park, N.Y.
9. Paul Braymer, Granville, N.Y.
10. Carl Vladyka, Fair Haven

1. Bill Duprey, Hydeville
2. David Emigh, Ballston Spa, N.Y.
3. Mike Ostrander
4. Randy Miller
5. Justin Demers, Maltaville, N.Y.

Bomber Warrior
1. Colin Clow
2. Nate Woodworth, Essex Junction
3. Paul Woodworth
4. Eddie Bruno, Fair Haven
5. Justin Lilly, Castleton

Duke Stock
1. Garrett Given, Cornwall
2. Brian Bishop
3. Erika Lilly, Castleton

Devils Bowl
Season Complete


West Sand Lake, N.Y.

Wells, Vt.

Granville, N.Y.

Bomber Warrior
Essex Junction, Vt.

Duke Stock
Castleton, Vt.

Goss Dodge-ChryslerBruno's TowingBFR ChassisSubway of Barre, Montpelier, Northfield, Waterbury, West LebanonFast One Motorsports C&S ScreenprintingMansfield HeliflightBarre-Montpelier Times ArgusRPM Racing Engines

Follow Vermont MotorMag