Vermont Motorsport Magazine Sponor

Bear Ridge Speedway News

Pierson Takes Bear Ridge Mid-Season Triple Crown

- Justin St. Louis on 20 Jul 2010

Adam Pierson (#15) makes his way past Dan Eastman en route to another Sportsman Modified win at Bear Ridge Speedway. (Photo by Alan Ward)Adam Pierson (#15) makes his way past Dan Eastman en route to another Sportsman Modified win at Bear Ridge Speedway. (Photo by Alan Ward)

BRADFORD -- Adam Pierson earned his fourth Sportsman Modified victory of the season in Saturday night’s Mekkelsen RV Mid-Season Championship event at Bear Ridge Speedway, and did so in style by taking the first Triple Crown of his career.

Pierson, a four-time Bear Ridge champion from Fairlee, won his qualifying heat, the bonus-point semi-feature, and the main event for the sweep.

Following Pierson across the finish line were East Thetford’s Jason Gray, rookie Dan Eastman of Thetford Center, Mike Dunn of North Haverhill, N.H., and Bryan King of Corinth.

Rookie Shane Race of South Strafford earned his first career Sportsman Coupe victory in a crash-filled event. Race beat Bradford’s Jeremy Stygles, Gene Pierson, Jr., of East Corinth, Josh Harrington of Topsham, and point leader Melvin Pierson of East Corinth. Nine cautions slowed the 25-lap event.

Hometown driver Tyler Stygles took his third Limited Late Model win, defeating point leader Will Hull of East Montpelier. Moretown’s Jason Blake was a season-best third, followed by Jeremy Hodge and Sam Comeau.

Josh Sunn of White River Junction made it ten consecutive victories in the Fast Four division, but only after a final-lap pass of Tim Hodge to take the lead and steal the win. Hodge, of Vershire, took a career-best finish as the runner-up. Kevin Harran of St. Johnsbury Center was third. Bradford’s Tom Placey earned his sixth Hornet win of the season over Eric Lang of Groton and Scott Keithan.

Dave Morgan won the Granite State Mini Sprint 600cc feature over Terry Reil and Derek Eldridge, and Orwell’s Lacey Hanson was the 500cc winner over Troy Boissoneau and Larry Sheridan.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS -- Mekkelsen RV Mid-Season Championships
Bear Ridge Speedway -- Bradford, Vt.
Saturday, July 17, 2010

# - denotes rookie

Bond Auto Sportsman Modified
1. Adam Pierson, Fairlee
2. Jason Gray, East Thetford
3. # Dan Eastman, Thetford Center
4. Mike Dunn, North Haverhill, N.H.
5. Bryan King, Corinth

Wells River Chevrolet Sportsman Coupe
1. # Shane Race, South Strafford
2. # Jeremy Stygles, Bradford
3. Gene Pierson, Jr., East Corinth
4. Josh Harrington, Topsham
5. Melvin Pierson, East Corinth

A Notch Above Auto Limited Late Model
1. Tyler Stygles, Bradford
2. Will Hull, East Montpelier
3. Jason Blake, Moretown
4. Jeremy Hodge, Newbury
5. Sam Comeau, Rumney, N.H.

Journal Opinion Fast Four
1. Josh Sunn, White River Junction
2. Tim Hodge, Vershire
3. Kevin Harran, St. Johnsbury Center
4. Andy Johnson, Wilder
5. Robert Tilder, East Thetford

1. Tom Placey, Bradford
2. # Eric Lang, Groton
3. Scott Keithan
4. Karl Sheldon, St. Johnsbury
5. Mike Pittman, Corinth

Granite State Mini Sprint 600cc
1. Dave Morgan
2. Terry Reil
3. Derek Eldridge
4. Drew Eldridge
5. Troy Boissoneau

Granite State Mini Sprint 500cc
1. Lacey Hanson
2. Troy Boissoneay
3. Larry Sheridan
4. Bill Lussier
5. Mike Bubnis

Bear Ridge
Season complete


Bond Auto Sportsman Modified
Fairlee, Vt.

Wells River Chevy Sportsman Coupe
East Corinth, Vt.

A Notch Above Auto Ltd Late Model
East Montpelier, Vt.

Journal Opinion Fast Four
White River Junction, Vt.

Bradford, Vt.

Hornet Queen
Corinth, Vt.

WYKR Sprint Cars of New England
Bridgewater, N.H.

Goss Dodge-ChryslerBruno's TowingBFR ChassisSubway of Barre, Montpelier, Northfield, Waterbury, West LebanonFast One Motorsports C&S ScreenprintingMansfield HeliflightBarre-Montpelier Times ArgusRPM Racing Engines

Follow Vermont MotorMag